Chapter 11: Learning at Your Service (Opener #10: Networks of Personalized Learning)

Online Language Learning (Opener #10): Have you ever wanted to learn Mandarin Chinese, Spanish, English, Hindi, Russian, or Farsi? Millions of people are using resources such as Livemocha, ChinesePod, SpanishPod, Mixxer, KanTalk, ECpod, and dozens of other online resources to learn or teach languages. Much of this is free. One company, Livemocha, has gone from start-up to 3 million users in less than 2 years. At the same time, free podcasts from ChinesePod, a product ofPraxis Language, are downloaded around 300,000 times per month. These free podcasts are available at beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels.


#1 - How are you maximizing personal learning via the internet for your school/in PSD?

#2 - How can your school/division harness some aspect of Facebook or other social media to improve teaching/learning?


#3 - Does your school/in PSD currently utilize online mentoring/tutoring? If so, what is the outcome? If not, what areas would be of interest to your school/division?


AskOnline: __http://www.askonline.net/__
Audible: __http://www.audible.com/__
Australia Flexible Learning Framework: __http://www.flexiblelearning. net.au/flx/go__
Bebo: __http://www.bebo.com/__
Blogger: __http://www.blogger.com/__
Business Opportunities Weblog (Dane Carlson's weblog for small business): __http://www.business- opportunities.biz/__
Business Pundit (Robert May's weblog for business): __http://www.businesspundit.com/__
The Carlyle Letters Online: __http://carlyleletters. dukejournals.org/__
Connectivism: __http://www.connectivism.ca/__
Cyworld: __http://us.cyworld.com/__
Del.icio.us: __http://del.icio.us/__
The Diary of Samuel Pepys: __http://www.pepysdiary.com/__
Diaryland: __http://www.diaryland.com/__
Emerging Perspectives on Learning, Teaching, and Technology (Michael Orey): __http://projects.coe.uga.edu/ epltt/index.php?title=Main_ Page__
Explorer's Web: __http://www.explorersweb.com/__
Facebook: __http://www.facebook.com/__
Flickr: __http://www.flickr.com/__
Flixster: __http://www.flixster.com/__
Fotolog: __http://www.fotolog.com/__
Frenchpod: __http://frenchpod.com/__
Friendster: __http://www.friendster.com/__
Furl: __http://www.furl.net/__
Google Blog Search: __http://blogsearch.google.com/__
Growing Stars: __http://www.growingstars.com/__
Here Comes Everybody (Ken Carroll's weblog): __http://ken-carroll.com/__
Hi5: __http://hi5.com/__
Incheon Free Economic Zone (FEZ): __http://eng.ifez.go.kr/guide/ ifez_about/ifez.asp__
Instapundant (Glenn Reynolds' weblog): __http://www.instapundit.com/__
Internet Time Blog (Jay Cross's weblog): __http://internettime.com/__
Learning Peaks: __http://www.learningpeaks.com/__
LinkedIn: __http://www.linkedin.com/__
Live Journal: __http://www.sixapart.com/ livejournal/__
Livemocha: __http://www.livemocha.com/__
Living Tongues Institute for Endangered Languages: __http://www.livingtongues.org/__
MentorNet: __http://www.mentornet.net/__
Mixi: __http://mixi.jp/__
Mixxer (Language Exchange): __http://www.language-exchanges. org/__
MonkeySee: __http://www.monkeysee.com/__
Movable Type: __http://www.sixapart.com/ movabletype/__
MySpace: __http://www.myspace.com/__
New Technology High Schools: __http://www.newtechfoundation. org/__
Ning: __http://www.ning.com/__
Old Daily (Stephen Downes): __http://www.downes.ca/news/ OLDaily.htm__
Periodic Table of Visualization: __http://www.visual-literacy. org/periodic_table/periodic_ table.html__
PhotoBucket: __http://photobucket.com/__
Picasa: __http://picasa.google.com/__
Pitas: __http://www.pitas.com/__
Project Gutenberg: __http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/ Main_Page__
Simpy: __http://www.simpy.com/__
Small Business Trends (Anita Campbell's weblog): __http://www.smallbiztrends.com/__
Sookmyung Women's University: __http://e.sookmyung.ac.kr/__
Stephen's Web (Steven Downes weblog for education): __http://www.downes.ca/__
SMARTHINKING: __http://smarthinking.com/__
StraighterLine: __http://straighterline.com/__
Technorati: __http://technorati.com/__
The Poles: __http://www.thepoles.com/__
Thorsmark (Mark Franek's weblog): __http://markfranek.wordpress. com/__
TravelinEdMan (Curt Bonk's blog): __http://travelinedman.blogspot. com/__
Triple Creek: __http://www.3creek.com/__
Tutor.com: __http://www.tutor.com/__
TutorVista.com: __http://www.tutorvista.com/__
TypePad: __http://www.sixapart.com/ typepad/pricing__
VoiceThreads: __http://voicethread.com/__
Visual Thesaurus: __http://www.visualthesaurus. com/__
Weblogg-ed (Will Richardson's weblog for education): __http://www.weblogg-ed.com/__
Wikihow: __http://www.wikihow.com/Main- Page__
William Penn Charter School: __http://www.penncharter.com/ root.asp?display=flash__
Xanga: __http://www.xanga.com/__

Language Learning:

Adout.com: Education: __http://www.about.com/ education/__
Childtopia: __http://www.childtopia.com/__
ChinesePod: __http://chinesepod.com/__
Chinswing: __http://www.chinswing.com/__
Dave's ESL Café: __http://www.eslcafe.com/__
ECpod: __http://www.ecpod.com/__
EnglishPod: __http://www.englishpod.com/__
Englishtown: __http://www.englishtown.com/Sp/ lp/Home.aspx?bhcp=1__
ESL Flashcards: __http://www.eslflashcards.com/__
ESL Kids: __http://www.esl-kids.com/__
FriendsAbroad: __http://www.friendsabroad.com__
FrenchPod: __http://frenchpod.com/__
Global English: __http://www.globalenglish.com/ pls/EN/225474.htm__
ItalianPod: __http://italianpod.com/__
KanTalk: __http://www.kantalk.com/__
LanguageLab.com: __http://www.languagelab.com/ index/__
Livemocha: __http://www.livemocha.com/__
LoMasTv: __http://lomastv.com/product/ home.php__?
Mango Languages: __http://www.mangolanguages.com/__
Mixxer: __http://www.language-exchanges. org/__
Rosseta Stone: __http://www.rosettastone.com/__
SpanishPod: __http://spanishpod.com/__

Podcasting and Vodcasting:

Curry.com (Adam Curry's weblog): __http://www.curry.com/__
Daily Source Code (from Adam Curry): __http://www.dailysourcecode. com/__
Digital Podcast: Education Podcast Directory: __http://www.digitalpodcast.com/ browse-educational-20-1.html__
EdTechTalk: __http://edtechtalk.com/__
The Education Podcast Network (EPN): __http://epnweb.org/__
iTunes: __http://www.apple.com/itunes/__
iTunes U: __http://www.apple.com/ education/itunesu_ mobilelearning/itunesu.html__
Learning 2006 University (from Elliott Masie): __http://www.learning2006.com/ university__
NPR podcast directory (Beta):
__http://www.npr.org/rss/ podcast/podcast_directory.php__
Podcast Alley: __http://www.podcastalley.com/__
Podcasting News: __http://www.podcastingnews.com/__
Podcast.com: __http://podcast.com/__
SonoSite ultrasound training: __http://www.sonosite.com/ trainingmodules/__
Worldbridges: __http://worldbridges.net/__