Chapter 2: To Search and to Scan (Opener #1: Web Searching in the World of e-Books)


E-Books (Opener #1): Around 100 schools in Korea are experimenting with digital books in 2009. These books are embedded with simulations, study aids, dictionaries, games, hyperlinks to the Web, multimedia, student authoring tools, enhanced data searching capabilities, email, discussion forums, and evaluation tools. The Korean government wants such books free for all schools by 2013. If Korea is successful, there is no reason why the U.S. cannot set similar goals. Already the state of California is adopting policies for digital and open access textbooks as a means to reduce the state deficit and enhance learning.

#1 - In PSD or in your school do you encourage access to free and open resources? Pleas explain.


#2 - How is the fisrt chapter 2 question and Masie’s "fingertip knowledge" reflected in classroom instruction in your school or in PSD?

Additional Chapter 2 Activity: To better experience "fingertip knowledge" and ease of information access use Google Squared, http://www.google.com/squared. Google Squared pulls information from various websites into a table format for rapid location and connection of information. Keep in mind Albert Einstein's quote," Information is not knowledge."


#3 - How are ebooks used in your school or in PSD? Which district policies encourage or discourage use of ebooks?


America's Promise Alliance: __http://www.americaspromise. org/APA.aspx__
Brian J. Ford: __http://www.brianjford.com/ bjford.htm__
CafeScribe: __http://www.cafescribe.com/__
California Open Source Textbook Project (COSTP): __http://www.opensourcetext.org/__
Digital History: __http://www.digitalhistory.uh. edu/__
Ebrary: __http://www.ebrary.com/corp/ index.jsp__
Flat World Knowledge: __http://www.flatworldknowledge. com/minisite/__
Freeload Press: __http://www.freeloadpress.com/ navStudents.aspx__
Global Text Project: __http://globaltext.org/__
Google Book Search: __http://books.google.com/__
Google Earth: __http://earth.google.com/__
Google Sky: __http://earth.google.com/sky/ skyedu.html__
Hole in the Wall Education: __http://www.hole-in-the-wall. com/index.html__
Internet Archive: __http://www.archive.org/index. php__
Kindle (from Amazon): __http://www.amazon.com/dp/ B000FI73MA/?tag=googhydr-20& ref=pd_sl_p2bg741rk_e__
Live Search Books (Microsoft): __http://search.live.com/books__
Lulu: __http://www.lulu.com/__
NetLibrary: __http://www.netlibrary.com/__
OCLC (Online Computer Library Center): __http://www.oclc.org/default. htm__
Open Content Alliance: __http://www. opencontentalliance.org/__
Open Library: __http://www.openlibrary.org/__
Open Society Institute: __http://www.soros.org/__
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson: __http://www.princeton.edu/~ tjpapers/declaration/ declaration.html__
Questia: __http://www.questia.com/Index. jsp__
Reddit: __http://reddit.com/__
Shuttleworth Foundation: __http://www. shuttleworthfoundation.org/__
Sloan Consortium: __http://www.sloan-c.org/__
Textbook Revolution: __http://www.textbookrevolution. org/__
The Universal Digital Library (Million Book Collection): __http://www.ulib.org/__
Wayback Machine: __http://www.archive.org/web/ web.php__
WikiMedia Foundation: __http://wikimediafoundation. org/wiki/Home__
Wireless Networking in the Developing World: __http://wndw.net/index.html__
WorldCat: __http://www.worldcat.org/__